MVTA Board approves new Strategic Plan

The Minnesota Valley Transit Authority Board of Commissioners have mapped out a blueprint for the transit agency’s next five years.

In March, the MVTA Board approved a new vision and mission statement as part of an updated Strategic Plan that will guide the agency through 2022.

MVTA is the public transit agency serving Dakota County and Scott County communities.

New Connections

The board, which is comprised of elected officials from the two counties and member cities, approved a new mission statement: Connecting customers to desired destinations.

“The refreshed mission is straight-forward and understandable,” said MVTA Executive Director Luther Wynder. “It puts our customers first in line when we make decisions.”

A new vision statement, “Establish MVTA as the most connected transit agency through service, innovation, technology and partnerships,” also speaks to the board’s desire to tap into technology improvements as a way to serve MVTA passengers and employers.

“The board has placed a high priority on having MVTA staff collaborate with community residents, agencies and businesses to best meet the region’s mobility needs,” said MVTA Board Chair William Droste, who is the mayor of Rosemount.

The Strategic Plan, which the board created during a five-month period, identified five guiding principles for MVTA:

  • Increase and strengthen partnerships.
  • Promote MVTA’s brand.
  • Provide state-of-the-art, real-time information.
  • Prioritize customer support and feedback.
  • Explore last-mile, special event, and other innovative services.

Four key goals in the plan include: service excellence, financial stability, community engagement, and innovative solutions.

Current members of the Minnesota Valley Transit Authority Board of Commissioners are: 

  • Chair: William Droste, Mayor of Rosemount
  • Vice Chair:  Clint Hooppaw, Apple Valley Councilmember
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Chris Gerlach, Dakota County Commissioner
  • Kevin Burkart, Prior Lake Councilmember
  • Bob Coughlen, Savage Councilmember
  • Gary Hansen, Eagan City Councilmember
  • Dan Kealey, Burnsville Councilmember
  • Jon Ulrich, Scott County Commissioner
  • Jay Whiting, Shakopee Councilor

MVTA is the second largest public transit provider in the state in terms of ridership.

In 2017, MVTA provided 2,924,364 passenger rides, up 1 percent from the prior year. The figure was the second highest annual ridership in MVTA history.

MVTA’s member cities include Apple Valley, Burnsville, Eagan, Prior Lake, Rosemount, Savage and Shakopee.

About 64 percent of MVTA ridership is for commuters to Minneapolis.

News Archives